Lucky Duck pays his respects to Macho Man Randy Savage

Ringside Boxer Shorts

Lucky Duck pays his respects to Randy Macho Man Savage, the greatest wrestler of all time.

I was so sad to hear the news that Randy Macho Man Savage died today in a car accident. Just a couple of weeks ago, Lucky Duck was celebrating Macho Man while cheering on Mucho Macho Man at the Kentucky Derby. In fact, Randy Macho Man is the main reason I was happy to see Mucho Macho Man take third.

WWF was a huge part of my growing up. Our dad would watch it with us every Saturday night, and in the second grade, he  took me to the Tacoma Dome to see WWF live! I wore a pink ballerina sweat suit and danced in the ring with The Junk Yard Dog.

I named my first puppy Maximillion Macho Puppy Truax. I carried around a Rowdy Roddy Piper figurine. I did the Figure Four on Anthony Shipman one day after we got off the bus. I jumped off the top rope (off mom and dad’s bed onto the floor) and accidentally broke my little sister’s ankle! I picked the WWF ice cream bar at Cumberland’s when I’d visit my Grandma Dot in New Jersey. It was fun because you never knew which wrestler you got on your ice cream until you opened the box. Does anyone else remember these?

WWF Ice Cream Bar

When Macho Man Randy Savage introduced his “manager” – Miss Elizabeth – the world of wrestling changed forever. While some questioned his choice, Miss Elizabeth quickly became The First Lady of Wrestling.

Miss Elizabeth

In fact, they were married in the ring and in real life. When Jake the Snake put a snake in her wedding gift, it spurred a huge feud between Randy Macho Man and Jake the Snake. Check out Randy Macho Man show Jake the Snake Roberts how insane he is:

Personally, I believe that Miss Elizabeth helped influence the creation of G.L.O.W., which gave women a league of their own. Remember that?

My favorite was Tina Ferrari. My sister liked Susie Spirit. This is me trying to be a gorgeous lady of wrestling a few years ago at my sister’s art show Galaxy of Pain by Blush Photo (Blake Lewis actually came to that, and we took this photo):

Galaxy of Pain

So let’s take a moment of silence for some fabulous wrestlers who were taken from the ring too soon (Here’s a more complete list):

  • Randy Macho Man Savage - died today when his Jeep crossed the median and he hit a tree. He likely had a heart attack at the wheel. His wife is ok.
  • Miss Elizabeth – died of alocohol and pain killers in 2003 in a home she shared with Lex Luger.
  • Junkyard Dog – died in 1998 when he was driving home from his daughter’s high school graduation. He fell asleep at the wheel.
  • Andre the Giant – died in 1993 of congestive heart failure in his sleep in a Paris hotel.
  • Big John Studd – died in 1995 of liver cancer.
  • Rick Rude – died in 1999 from mixed medications.
  • The Fabulous Moolah – died in 2007 at the age of 84.
  • Bam Bam Bigelow – died of a drug overdose in 2007.
  • Owen Hart – died in 1999 due to an accident at the Over the Edge PPV event in Kansas City, MO. He fell 50 feet from ceiling to ring.
  • Chris Benoit – died in 2007 as the result of a very sad murder suicide. It was determined that he had committed the murders; however, when his brain was examined, it was determined that he had severe damage from concussions and dimensia. After killing his wife and son, he hung himself with a home gym system.
Let’s hope that tomorrow isn’t really the end of the world for all of us. This is really making me sad, so promise me that when we all get another day tomorrow – do something really really nice. Sound good?
4 thoughts on “Lucky Duck pays his respects to Macho Man Randy Savage

  1. Pingback: Land of the Sweets at The Triple Door must, must, must be on your holiday agenda « The Adventures of Lucky Duck

  2. Pingback: Happy Father’s Day, to my fun Dad! « The Adventures of Lucky Duck

Let me know what you think...

