Starbucks releases new Blonde roast, their lightest, most caffeinated roast yet

Starbucks Blonde Roast

Lucky Duck likes blondes.

For the first time, Starbucks adds a light roast to their offering. It’s called their Blonde roast, and it comes in two varieties: Veranda and Willow.

I knew this day was coming for some time now, so I was prepared. I brought in my special-promotion tumbler and actually had the chance to try a nice hot cup of Veranda for free.

Find out if you like the Blonde roast for free

Sadly, the promotional tumblers are long gone, but you’ll have the chance to try it for free at the tasting event from January 12th-14th. Starbucks is brewing up the Blonde, Medium, and Dark roasts for customers to try side-by-side.

Starbucks Blonde Roast

Light roasts have more caffeine than Dark roasts

I spent a couple of minutes speaking with my Local Store Manager, and I learned a bit about this new and exciting roast. Here’s my most fascinating takeaway:

The lighter the roast, the stronger your caffeine rush. Think of steaming veggies. The longer you steam a vegetable, the more vitamins leave the vegetable. The longer you roast a bean, the more caffeine leaves the bean.

My opinion on Blonde

I really like it. I drink a cup of Starbucks drip coffee every single morning, and I tend to favor the Dark roasts. I know a lot of people don’t care for the taste of these darker roasts, saying that the coffee tastes too bitter. If you’re one of those people, I highly encourage you to try the Blonde roast. I think that you’ll find it very smooth and tasty. You might even want a refill!

But be careful. I actually felt more caffeinated today, after having my first cup of Blonde. When I went back for my refill (I have the promotional tumbler, why not?), I actually opted for Dark to go for the lesser amount of caffeine.

But WOW, what a lovely way to start the day. A nice light roast packed with a “Wake me up and get me to work!” punch. Even though I typically choose the Dark roast, I really enjoyed my Blonde today. I’ll get it again tomorrow. Maybe twice.

Also available in the VIA variety

I’m actually really into the VIA coffee. It’s pretty tough to tell the difference between a brewed pot or my VIA. At all times, I keep VIA at work, at home, and in my purse. All you have to do is add hot water, and you’re set.

VIA highlights: It’s especially useful at home when I don’t want to go through the motions and clean up a whole coffee pot. It’s a godsend at work when I need a pick-me-up around 3:00. Good to know that VIA also comes in Blonde!

WP_001259

Give Blonde a try and let me know what you think!

Starbucks Blonde Roast

Like Lucky Duck on Facebook!

21 thoughts on “Starbucks releases new Blonde roast, their lightest, most caffeinated roast yet

  1. Pingback: Starbucks Valentine’s Day cups and limited edition Raspberry Cake Pops « The Adventures of Lucky Duck

  2. I stumbled upon your site when I googled “does blonde roast have more caffeine”.

    If you like creamer, I suggest Bailey’s (non-alcoholic) Coffee Creamer. Wow, just a tad of that and you’re good to go. Sweet, delectable, with a jolt. It’s like coffee on crack. Or maybe crack on coffee… anyway, its good. (Coffee that is; not crack).

  3. I love the new Blonde Via! I don’t like the darker roasts and am too lazy to brew myself. This is the perfect morning coffee for me. Thanks for your blog posting on this!

    • I really love the Via too, and it totally flies under the radar… I don’t know why. It’s awesome, and it totally saves the hassle of having to clean out the coffee pot! I’m with ya there!

  4. I find “enjoying a tall blonde” is an excellent way to start the day and finish the day too:) Oh wait! You’re talking about coffee….haha

  5. Ms Lucky Duck, I love your writing style. Thanks for sharing your stories.

    My wife just bought a back of Veranda Blonde and I’m looking forward to it.

    Totally agree with you about the Via. I make it using the weak-arse coffee served in the office. Now we’re talking!!

  6. I usually try the dark roast. But, the blonde fits it’s own name- it tastes lighter.
    I haven’t felt the caffeine rush yet- so hopefully I’ll feel it soon!

    Have a great morning! :)

  7. Pingback: New Starbucks Reusable Cups and a New Vanilla Spice Latte « The Adventures of Lucky Duck

  8. Why is it including you that no one can tell me how much caffeine is in Starbucks Blonde Roast and it’s not given on Starbucks site either.

    • Thanks for asking! It’s such a great question. The only information that I’ve been able to gather is that Blonde has the most caffeine – now, what that #/level/amount is — your guess is as good as mine! I bet you could post your question on the Starbucks Facebook page and get an answer.

    • Although I can’t tell you how much caffeine is in it, I can tell you that a cup of blonde at 3 pm led to my first case of heartburn in my life (57 yo), at 3 a.m in the morning, and it was not pleasant. The flavor was great and I never felt the caffeine rush, but my body surely did not like it. You may be okay drinking it in the a.m. As for me, I’ll stay far away from it. I’ve drunk the dark roast in the evening with no problems.

    • Hi Stephanie! It’s great to have you as a reader. Thank you so much for checking out my site. You can like Lucky Duck on Facebook to find out about new posts, if you’re interested.

  9. I have been trying to “learn” to like coffee and have been doing research on which ones to try, do you think the the blonde at Starbucks would be a good choice for someone that does not really like coffee at all? What would you suggest to add to the blonde roast to kick the flavors up a notch, maybe mocha or caramel to help cover up the coffee taste? Thanks for your blog!!

    • I am so happy you asked, Beki. Thank you for checking in! I have the perfect solution – The new Blonde Vanilla! The Blonde roast is light anyway, and the vanilla flavoring is very very nice. I added Whole Milk rather than nonfat to treat myself, and it was honestly delicious. I think you’ll learn to like this coffee beverage quickly! Let me know what you think!

  10. The Blonde Roast is really tasty.. not too strong but definitely larger amount of caffeine in a cup than a darker roast!

Let me know what you think...

