Lucky Duck finds fashion duds at Goodwill

Goodwill Bellevue Designer Sale

Lucky Duck attends the first ever designer sale at Bellevue Goodwill.

My friend Jay, from work, knows that I love fashion. He forwarded me an article a few weeks ago, alerting me to the fact that Bellevue Goodwill would be holding its first ever designer sale!

Doors opened today at 9:00 a.m., but I wanted to play it smart and arrive early. Well, so did about 100 other people…

Line at Goodwill Bellevue designer sale

I guess 8:30 wasn’t early enough. As I stood in this long line, a man with a megaphone announced the rules regarding pushing and shoving… Oh no, I thought. What did I get myself into!?

Bellevue Goodwill line at designer sale

Once the doors opened, it was a little scary. People are crazy. This Dolce & Gabbana jacket was at the end of one rack, and I was soooo excited to grab it and make it mine! A stranger pointed at me and said, “Score!” I felt like I had found the Golden Easter Egg!

But then I noticed that it was $199.99. Ugh. I’m a Nordstrom expert; I’m there all the time. I could look at the label and understand that Nordstrom had originally sold it for $639, then marked it down to $419. Then the Rack got it and sold it for $349. Someone bought it, and changed their mind. You can’t bring back designer stuff to The Rack; whoever bought it just gave it to Goodwill. Who does that?!

Dolce and Gabbana jacket

I tried it on, and it fit like a dream. Sigh. I grabbed a photo of myself in the jacket with my Wndows Phone so that I could remember it forever.

Another new outfit Dolce & Gabbana jacket Bellevue Goodwill Designer Sale

$200 didn’t feel right for today’s Goodwill spend. I was just spoiled with birthday presents two days ago. And, I’m flying to Maui in less than a month to stay in The Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea. I always ask myself three things before buying something, and those aside, I couldn’t do it. Perhaps on another day it would have worked out… I put the beautiful black & gold Dolce jacket back.

My friend Jean found the perfect shirt for me – a beautiful, brand new Michael Kors flowy top! Jean always looks great and has fantastic taste. Check out her fashion blog, Jean of All Trades!

Michael Kors flowy top

Michael Kors fits like a dream

I’ve always wanted a Hermes silk scarf to fulfill my fantasies to be Grace Kelly. Well, I found one today at the Bellevue Goodwill Designer Sale! Normally, these scarves are 400 bucks; the new summer twill ones are nearly 800. This one today – $129.99!! But I passed. Some people LOVE teddy bears, so I thought I should save it for a collector. When I get an Hermes silk scarf someday, I’d love to get it from the actual store – have the full experience of the service, get a beautiful box and bag, and be able to pick any pattern I want. I sigh.

Hermes Silk Scarf

At one point, I found a blond leather Harley Davidson jacket that looked kinda interesting. As I was zipping it up, I noticed a guy hovering. He had a long gray ponytail, and he was wearing a Harley Davidson tee-shirt. I got it. I said, “Hey, do you want this?” and I took it off. He was so happy, and his wife grabbed it from me with a big smile. Jean gave me the blue shirt; it was only right to pay it forward.

Here’s what was going on around me. Not exactly good shopping juju!

Goodwill Bellevue designer sale

See more photos from the event in the Bellevue Reporter.

I spent $49.99 getting the blue Michael Kors new flowy top. As soon as I came home, I put together a pretty cute outfit that should be perfect this Spring, involving my dark denim skinny Sevens and nude Badgley Mischka Randee heels.

Michael Kors top, Sevens jeans, nude Badgley Mischka Randee heels

Since today was an on-day for bargain shopping, I decided to drive out to Nordstrom Rack after work. Glad I did! I scored a gold Badgley Mischka stretch bracelet!! I think my Fairy God Shopper was repaying me for handing off the Harley jacket. I bought the beautiful bracelet with gift cards that my friends Ursula and Rebecca gave me for my birthday.

New Badgley Mischka Gold Bracelets

Like Lucky Duck on Facebook! All the fashionistas are doing it!

7 Comments

  1. The blue top looks amazing! It was meant for you. It’s going to look great the way you styled it with the Seven jeans and Badgley Mischka heels.

    You totally got rewarded for giving away the Harley jacket – nice score with the Badgley Mischka bracelet. ‘Twas a good shopping day!

Let me know what you think...

