Lucky Duck attends the grand opening of the Microsoft Store in University Village

Lucky Duck attends the grand opening of the Microsoft Store in U Village

Lucky Duck is thrilled to be one of the first beaks in the new Microsoft Store.

The Microsoft Store in U Village is open! And the grand opening party was an amazing event – from the very beginning when they “cut the ribbon,” to the very end when we successfully scored free tickets to One Republic and The Black Keys. And even the huge line in between was a BLAST. I used my Windows Phone to capture the morning…

The ribbon is cut; the logo is revealed

But first let’s start at the very beginning when Microsoft “cut the ribbon” at 9:30 a.m. When you hear the final countdown, look at the top right part of the screen to see the big reveal of the Microsoft Store logo.

Presents are distributed at different places in line

If you clicked the video above, you can see two other very important things:

1. The line is actually very, very long. There had to be over 1,000 people in line this morning, and it was awesome to see such a fantastic turnout.

2. At the start of the line, the Microsoft Store event staff was passing out Microsoft Store branded golf umbrellas to keep us dry.

Microsoft Store grand opening in u village

I was blown away at this. I felt so special, and I knew that I’d keep dry during my long wait. What a wonderful way to start the line.

But it didn’t end there. Throughout the line, event staff stood at various places with little red wagons filled with awesome swag!

Want to wear the spirit? How about a Microsoft Store t-shirt!

 

Thirsty? Grab a Microsoft store branded bottle of water!

Swag at Microsoft Store Grand Opening in U Village

But this was my favorite part of the day

Those of us in line were having fun taking it all in – the swag, the crowd, the music, the vibe. All of it was really, really good. I was thrilled to speak with Caesar and Adrian in line and get the chance to hear about their passion for Microsoft. (Caesar and Adrian, I’m so sorry that I couldn’t write down the spelling of your names. Please click the “contact me” tab and let me know if there are any typos.)

As we bopped to PYT, made our way inside, and scored free concert tickets, I used my Windows Phone to take a few short videos. I used Windows Live Movie Maker to put them all together. I LOVE their smiles. Caesar and Adrian totally made my day.

Thank you, Caesar and Adrian, for letting me make this fun video today!

 

Yay! The grand opening is a success!

As you can see in the video above, Caesar and Adrian got their tickets to One Republic, and I actually grabbed tickets to The Black Keys. (And way to go Microsoft Store for throwing in portable, waterproof blankets to sit on at the show!)

Paying it forward

This is actually kinda cool – the woman and daughter duo in front of me had to split. Mom is a surgeon at a major hospital and couldn’t wait to get her tickets at the end of the line. I told her that I’d get her and her daughter Black Keys tickets. And I did! I was even able to drive them over to her at the hospital, which felt GREAT. She was so happy and wrote me the nicest email that said, “You make a wonderful ambassador for Microsoft.”

After what happened to me last night at Bellevue Square Nordstrom, it was really important to me personally to not allow this customer to make a huge effort to come down and walk away with nothing.

Microsoft knows how to do customer service!

Shannon Harms at Microsoft Store Grand Opening in U Village

Shannon Harms at Microsoft Store Grand Opening in U Village

Shannon Harms at Microsoft Store Grand Opening in U Village

Shannon Harms at Microsoft Store Grand Opening in U Village

Shannon Harms at Microsoft Store Grand Opening in U Village

Shannon Harms at Microsoft Store Grand Opening in U Village

Don’t forget to like Lucky Duck on Facebook!

4 thoughts on “Lucky Duck attends the grand opening of the Microsoft Store in University Village

  1. Pingback: Add the Facebook Like Box to your WordPress.com blog! Here’s how… « The Adventures of Lucky Duck

  2. Pingback: Lucky Duck buys Michael Kors boots to replace the DVF ones that went back « The Adventures of Lucky Duck

  3. Pingback: Microsoft’s “Project Detroit” Ford Mustang « The Adventures of Lucky Duck

  4. Pingback: Fourth of July at Gas Works on Lake Union « The Adventures of Lucky Duck

Let me know what you think...

