Cinderella The Musical on Broadway in New York City

Cinderella The Musical on Broadway

Lucky Duck enjoys Rogers & Hammerstein’s Cinderella, The Musical.

As I sunk into my red velvet seat at The Broadway Theater on 52nd/Broadway in New York City, I wondered how much of Cinderella The Musical would overlap with the Disney Bibbidi Bobbidi Boo classic. The woods on the stage welcomed me in, and I couldn’t wait for the orchestra pit to fill the theater with the first notes of the overture.

Cinderella The Musical on Broadway

I was at the edge of my seat the second I sat down. Here’s a quick look at some commentary walking in; I think it’s pretty clear that I was thrilled to be attending my first Broadway play as a New Yorker.

What it’s all about

You’re not going to hear, “Salagadoola mechicka boola bibbidi-bobbidi-boo” in this musical, and you won’t meet Gus the mouse. As soon as Ella started singing, “In my own little corner,” I lit up – this show is adapted from the 1965 Leslie Ann Warren classic where Alan Quartermaine, ahem, Stuart Damon, plays the Prince! My mom and godmother watched this movie as little girls, and I had the joy of watching it on VHS as a kid myself. I still knew the words to every song!

Why you should go

Good theater gives you a reason to buy a ticket; otherwise, just stay home, watch the movie, and save a ton of money. At one point, Joe turned to me and said, “What the hell is going on?!” I nearly fell out of my velvet chair. The show takes a twist, and you can’t quite put your finger on how it’s going to play out, even though we all know the ending. The cast was exceptional (the short stepsister steals the show!). The theatrics around turning the pumpkin into the coach and the rags to the gown were incredible. I smiled the whole time. And I was so glad that I didn’t have to see a grown man dressed up as a mouse. No thanks.

Cinderella The Musical at The Broadway Theater

Where to eat

Now THAT is the next big question. I’ve blogged about Da Marino before. In fact, I even filmed a Fireside Chat, featuring my spaghetti and meatballs, as well as the Sex in the City clip when Carrie and Mr. Big ate there in one episode.

Tonight, we went back! And this time, I ordered the lasagna – YUM. My server recognized me and welcomed me back; with the high turnover at this place, I was so flattered.

Da Marino NYC

Lasagna at Da Marino NYC

Like Lucky Duck on Facebook!

2 Comments

Let me know what you think...

